What I’m Grateful For

Silent gratitude isn't much use to anyone. ~G.B. Stern

What I’m grateful for (in no particular order):

1. A family that has offered nothing but support and taught me that the words friend and family should be synonymous.  And for encouraging experiments and showing me the meaning of the words ‘what’s the worst that could happen?’

2. A wife who supports everything I do.  I mean everything.  Who entertains the crazy ideas and is subjected to talking about this site and helping people do work they love, way more often than is fair.

3. A mind that believes it’s possible.

4.  My church and the many friends in Christ I have, both there and around the world.

5. An amazing mother.  As my wife calls her, ‘the energizer bunny.’  About 84 years old and just had her 2nd complete knee replacement – now she needs two xray photos to show at the airport when she flies to visit family back east.  Thanks for everything, mom.

6. The Internet.  Because it helps to stay in touch with people in a way never before possible.

7. The ability to meet and interact with inspiring people every day.

8. My perfect wife. Oh wait, maybe I already said that. She deserves another mention anyway. 

9. To know that in the end, no matter what, God is truly on my side.

10. WordPress.

11. Writing.

12. Being able to write.

13. Books.

14. Being able to read.

15. All the people who show me that ‘impossible’ is usually not much more than a state of mind. Those who’ve done it all before me, have shown me the path and help and inspire me to walk it every day.

16. Friends.  Not just acquaintances, but friends – you know, the ones you can call for help at three in the morning, and they will be there, no questions asked.

17. My children.  Young adults now, both have grown to be terrific people, and although I don’t get to see them very much, I love them so very much.

18. And my step-daughter too.  Another amazing young woman, I envy the relationship she has with my wife – not just mother and daughter, but best of friends too.

19. Did I mention Jesus?  I’m grateful and thankful He came into my life and changed me and saved me “with His redeeming blood.”

20. A voice to sing.  In case you didn’t know it, I tend to sing all the time. Showering, driving, just walking around, with the radio, the CD player, even sometimes with the TV.  Mostly it’s like Psalms 100 (I make a joyful noise), but I do love to sing.

21. YOU.

Yeah, I’m really thankful and grateful for you.

Leave a Reply

